Awards of Appreciation

The Gesneriad Society instituted the Awards of Appreciation in 1977 to recognize those individuals whose activities had benefited the Society in one or more exceptional ways.

A number of factors are considered when choosing a recipient of an Award of Appreciation. Among them are the individual’s length of service to the Society, the importance of the service rendered by the individual, the individual’s service as a chairperson of one or more committees, work by an individual in behind-the-scenes activities, consistent contributions of gesneriad articles for publication by an individual, and other activities that benefit both the Society and the world of gesneriads.


Past recipients of the Award of Appreciation were recognized for their continued service to The Gesneriad Society at the 2014 Convention in Nashville, Tennessee

Left to right: Ben Paternoster, Julie Mavity-Hudson, Molly Schneider, Doris Carson (behind Molly), Mary Bozoian, Elizabeth Varley (behind Mary), Arleen Dewell (partially hidden, next to Elizabeth), Gussie Farrice, Michael Riley (behind Gussie),  M J Tyler, Paul Susi (behind M J), Michael Kartuz, Bill Price (behind Michael), Carolyn Ripps, Jeanne Katzenstein (behind Carolyn), Jo Anne Martinez, Paul Kroll, Dale Martens and Susan Grose

1977Paul Arnold*, Charlotte Rowe*, Adele Zemansky*
1978Frances Batcheller*, Carol Saylor, William Saylor *
1979Florence Messick*, Mel Sater*, Martin Tanner*, Reneé White*
1980Albert Buell*, Erica Clayberg, Emma Lahr*
1981Alice Courage*, Helen Kavanaugh, Henry Peterson*, Laura Progebin*
1982Michael Kartuz*
1983Dr. Robert E. Lee*, Dr. Margaret H. Stone*
1984S. Cleopatra Kohm*, David R. Masterson, Martin Mines*
1985C. A. Cruikshank*, Lee Linett, Dr. Laurence E. Skog
1986Margaret Belanger, Jimmy Dates*, Isla Montgomery*
1987Joseph Batcheller*, Ted Bona*, Ruth Webster*
1988Maryann Delaune*, Felicia McCann, Dr. Hans Wiehler*
1989Judy Becker*, Anthony Crisafulli*, Jessie Crisafulli*
1990Chris Kunhardt*, Michael A. Riley, Nellie Sleeth*, Ellen Todd
1991Earl Deroche*, Molly Schneider, Alan Wojcik*
1992Diantha Buell*, Anne Crowley*
1993Stanley Schwartz*, Margaret Waguespack*
1994Jeanne Katzenstein
1995Mary Bozoian*, Ben Paternoster, Monte Watler*
1996Celine Chase*, Betty Tapping*, Beth Weissman
1997Maryjane Evans*, Ron Myhr, Darrell Trout
1998David Turley, Dave Tyler*, M.J. Tyler
1999Dr. Miriam Denham*, Bonita Hutcheson*, Elizabeth Varley
2000Marlene Beam*, Ingrid Lindskog
2001Jon Dixon, Elvin McDonald
2002Virginie F. Elbert*, Mauro Peixoto, Leong Tuck Lock
2003Bill Burtt*, Peter Shalit
2004Doris Carson*, Bob & Carol Connelly, Mario Portilla Andrade, Coleen Turley
2005Helen Bortvedt*, Helen Freidberg*, Susan Grose
2006Dr. Alain Chautems, Arleen Dewell
2007Suzie Larouche, Dee Stewart, Bob Stewart
2008John Littner Clark, Dale M. Martens
2009Paul Kroll, Julie Mavity-Hudson, Paul Susi
2010Doris Brownlie, Bill Price
2011Carol Ann Bonner*, Asa Tysk
2012Jo Anne Martinez
2013Gussie Farrice, Carolyn Ripps
2014no award
2015Mel Grice, Alan LaVergne
2016Bob Clark, Becky Fontes, Anton Weber
2017Tom Bruning, Stephen Maciejewski
2018Mary Helen Maran
2019Karyn Cichocki, Lynne Dibley
2020no convention
2021Michael Moeller, Kathryn Spissman
2022Sadie Barber, Hung Xuan Nguyen
2023Leonard Re

Membership Links

Not a Member?

Membership in The Gesneriad Society has numerous benefits, chief among them being the quarterly journal, Gesneriads. Read more about the benefits of being a member.


Take advantage of all the members area has to offer. You can:

  • Order seeds from the Seed Fund
  • Get information packets for chapter shows
  • Download the Flower Show Manual at no charge…

Login to the members area