Officers and Directors


Members of the Board of Directors elect officers (to serve two-year terms) with elections held at a Board Meeting each year at convention. The current officers (and terms) are:

  • President: Mel Grice (2021 – 23)
  • 1st Vice-President: Winston Goretsky (2021 – 23)
  • 2nd Vice-President: Karyn Cichocki (2021 – 23)
  • Recording Secretary: Leonard Re (2021 – 23)
  • Treasurer: Phyllis Savage (2022 – 24)

Board of Directors (voting)

The Board consists of 21 directors who serve staggered terms. The membership elects seven directors to serve three-year terms with elections held at the Annual Membership Meeting each year at convention. The current directors are:

Term ending in 2023

Jeremy Keene, Steve Kerr, Julie Mavity-Hudson, Hung Nguyen, Irina Nicholson, Leonard Re, Elizabeth Varley

Term ending in 2024

Karyn Cichocki, Winston Goretsky, Mel Grice, Austin Grevious, Marilyn Heinrich, Mary Jo Modica, Ron Myhr

Term ending in 2025

Susan Bradford, Laura Buckner, Paulo Castello da Costa, Rick Fadden, Phyllis Savage, Terri Vicenzi, Judy Zinni

Advisory Board of Past Presidents (non-voting)

Michael Riley (1985-1989), Lee Linett (1993-1997), Jon Dixon (1997-2001), Susan Grose (2001-2005), Peter Shalit (2007-2011), Paul Susi (2011-2015), Julie Mavity-Hudson (2015-2019).

Membership Links

Not a Member?

Membership in The Gesneriad Society has numerous benefits, chief among them being the quarterly journal, Gesneriads. Read more about the benefits of being a member.


Take advantage of all the members area has to offer. You can:

  • Order seeds from the Seed Fund
  • Get information packets for chapter shows
  • Download the Flower Show Manual at no charge…

Login to the members area